Using Selenium to validate XHTML markup using lettuce

I am currently getting started on providing unit tests for Deniz with Selenium. While deniz is pure Javascript (with HTML & CSS) I am using Python with Lettuce (clone of Ruby’s cucumber) to test the application. Lettuce is a behaviour driven development (BDD) tool and makes testing clean and fun.

In this fashion I wanted to check that the W3C XHTML button is placed correctly, i.e. that deniz actually is valid XHTML. So automatic testing comes into play.

Here’s a small receipt to formulate the validation test. There are some quirks when using Firefox that needed a workaround, so I thought I share:

https://gist.github.com/924043

So I found out that while "static" deniz.html is valid XHTML the components that get embedded once Javascript is run breaks the document’s validity.

Now that brings me to a new question: Should AJAX-style webpages stricly adhere to W3C standards while operating, i.e. going through various states of the application, each changing the underlying HTML code? I guess so.

One comment

  1. @Charles I agree that there would way too many states in an average web application to check with this method. There are offline validators though, at least if it comes to xml validity. I haven’t pondered further on how to implement that. Probably once there is a need for that from our development side.@jollychang I can’t reproduce your issue. I just updated the gist to include a missing import, but that shouldn’t have been your issue. Here’s how I ran the code:# Download the two files to /tmp/features$ cd /tmp$ virtualenv env$ source env/bin/activate$ pip install lettuce_webdriver nose$ lettuce features/


Leave a Reply

